You can 'save and close' at any time during the application process, but your application will not be considered unless you 'submit'. You will not be able to submit your application if you have missed any mandatory questions.
You may 'recall' an application and edit up until the closing date. Make sure you then 'submit' it again.
You can see the status of your application when you are signed in.